West Bergholt Football Club was formed in the 1938/39 season, however there was a side representing the village since the early 1900's. They were nicknamed "The Brewers" due to the large brewery that was in the village at that time and they entered the Essex & Suffolk Border League in it's inuagural season, 1911/12, but withdrew after just one season.

After playing only frendlies, the club re-emerged in the Brightlingsea & District League in 1928/29. Although they finished bottom of the league, they managed to reach the final of the Amos Cup (League Cup) losing 2-0 to West End United at Layer Road (the home ground of Colchester United). Again after just one season they dropped out of the league.

The current club was then formed and it was admitted into the Brightlingsea & District League, but due to the war the team never played a match.
In the 1946/47 season the club re-entered the Brightlingsea & District League playing the home games in Manor Lane, on the old cricket ground pitch. The League then renamed itself the Colchester & East Essex League and West Bergholt played in Division 2 and a reserve side was formed in 1949/50, playing in Division 4. The club stayed in the league for six seasons until it again folded.

After years of friendlies, West Bergholt F.C. re-formed again in the 1959/60 season thanks to the efforts of Jim Fisher. Entering into Division 5 of the Colchester & East Essex League the club now played at the current ground, Lorkin Daniel Field in Lexden Road. It took the 1st team just 5 years to reach Division 1 and finishing as runners up in the 1971/71 season earned promotion in to the Premier Division.

In 1980, after being declined the previous season, the club made a second application for it's 1st team and reserves to enter the Essex & Suffolk Border League. Both teams were accepted and were admitted into the 2nd and 3rd Divisions respectively. In the first season, under manager Alan Chalk, the club won the 2nd Division title.
The 1st team, under manager John Lovett, won promotion into the Premier Division in 1987/88, where they have remained.

In the early 1990's the club was managed by former West Ham defender Alan Stephenson, Russell Storey and Neil Baron respectively. Neil's teams reached the Essex Intermediate Cup Final, finished as Border League Premier Division runners up twice and winners of the Border League Knock Out Cup for the first time.

However, it wasn't until the 2000/01 season that West Bergholt F.C. won the Premier Division, under manager Paul Davis and Assistant Manager Tony Longhurst, 89 years after the first village team entered the league.

Paul resigned his position in at the end of the 2003/4 season and Scooby Watson took over as player/manager taking us to the Border League Cup final in his first season in charge where we defeated Kelvedon Social 1-0.

Kevin Mather took charge of the reserves in 2006 leading them to victory in the Border League Reserve Cup in 2007/8.

Kevin Ketley became 1st team manager and after 3 consecutive runners up finishes in the Border League Premier Division he finally led his side to the title in 2008/9. They completed the double that season by also winning the Border League Cup. After going a year without losing in the league, and only losing 1 game on penalties, the icing on the cake for 2009 was winning the Colchester and District Sports Council's award for Team of the Year.

2009/10 was also a good season for the 1st team as they completed the cup double, retaining the ESBL League cup and winning the the biggest prize at this level, the Essex Premier Cup.
This season was the first for The West Bergholt Old Boys, who won the North Essex Veterans League under the stewardship of Keith Hughes.

Gary Wood took over the reigns in the 2010/11 season and completed a hat-trick of Border League Cup wins which saw us become the first team to win the trophy 3 years in a row. After a slow start to the 2011/12 season, Gary's troops went on an unbeaten run in the second half of the season that led to them clinching the Premier League title for the 3rd time.

2014 Joint Managerment team of Jimmy McIntyre & Mark Farthing took over from Gary Wood and led the 1st team to the Premier league title in 2015

1st Team
Border League Premier Div. Winners
2000/01, 2008/9,
2011/12, 2014/15

Border League Premier Div. R/U
1993/94, 1996/97, 1998/99, 2002/3,
2005/6, 2006/7, 2007/8,


Border League Div.1 Runners Up

Border League Div.2 Winners

Essex Intermediate Cup Winners

Essex Intermediate Cup Runners Up

Border League K.O. Cup Winners
1997/98, 2004/5, 2008/9, 2009/10,

Border League K.O. Cup Runners Up
1983, 1990

AV Lee Cup Winners
1997, 1998, 1999, 2001, 2012

Amos Cup Runners Up
1972, 1979

Charlie Pullen Cup Runners Up

Tiptree Charity Cup Winners
2000/01, 2001/02

Colchester & District Sports Council
Team of the Year 2009
Team of the Year Commendation 2010

Reserve Team
Border Res League Premier Div. Runners Up
2009/10, 2012/13

Border League Div.1 Winners

Border League Div.1 Runners Up

Border League Div.2 Runners Up
1991/2, 2004/5

Border League Div.3 Winners

Essex Junior Cup Winners

Border League Res. K.O. Cup Winners
1986, 1989, 2008, 2013, 2015

Border League Res. K.O. Cup R/U
1990, 1991, 1997

Tommy Thompson Cup Winners
1986, 2013

Youth Team
Colchester and District Youth League
U16 A League Winners

U18 A League Winners

Old Boys Team
North Essex Veterans League Winners

Other Awards
Essex FA Volunteer of the Year 2009
Anthony "Pud" Warren


Back to the top